It’s A Wrap – 2019 Reading Survey

Hi everyone! I really wanted to do a 2019 reading wrap up with graphs and shit like I did last year, but I’m feeling super lazy because I’m on vacation and I just don’t have the energy to compile any of that information. My energy is reserved for pushing play on Netflix and watching Youtube videos.  In lieu of that, I’ve decided to do this reading survey. I saw Gabby @ Gabby Reads do this on her channel and thought the questions would be a great way to concisely capture my reading year. 


Reading Stats

Before I get into the survey, I want to share a few stats about my reading that’s not captured in questions below. Of the 110 books I read this year: 

  • Source: 73 were from the library. 14 ARCs. the others were books I previously owned. Shout out to my public library, the real MVP!
  • Genre: 34 fantasy, 18 science fiction, 17 contemporary, 16 mystery, 13 romance, 12 other (non-fiction, literary, classic, etc.)
  • Audience: 46 adult, 37 young adult, 6 middle grade, and 1 children.
  • Format: 68 audiobooks (MVP! MVP! MVP!), 18 hardcover, 15 paperback, 8 ebooks, 1 graphic novel

Holy crap! This is the first year since joining the book community that I read more adult books than young adult. I didn’t realize that until writing this post. I’m so happy because my plan is to read less YA books next year so this makes me feel that it’s possible to shift to mostly adult.

Let’s get into the survey!


How many books did you read? Did you meet your goal?

I didn’t have a real reading goal this year. I only set a Goodreads goal to track my reading. That said, I read 109 books, but I DNFed 9 books so technically I only finished 100 books. I’m currently 70% done with The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan so I’ll end the year with 110 books read (that’s the number I used for the stats above). Regardless, I’ve never ever read this many books in my life. The most I’ve ever read in a year was 76.

Most read genre?

Fantasy is my favorite genre so this still hasn’t changed.

Longest and shortest books you read.

I was feeling super nostalgic back in May so I borrowed a few of my favorite childhood books from the library. I think I ended up reading 5 or 6 books, including Miss Nelson is Missing. I documented the experience on Instagram, but forgot to post it on here.

Favorite book published in 2019?

The Kingdom of Copper. I read it in 2018 because I received an early copy, but it wasn’t released until January 2019.

Favorite debut book in 2019?

Well Met by Jen Deluca and Opposite of Always by Justin A. Reynolds.

Favorite book not published this year?

I have a few books for this. The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang, Scythe by Neal Shusterman, Skyward by Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, and The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah.

A book that lived up to the hype.

Scythe by Neal Shusterman.

A book that did NOT live up to the hype.

I had lots of disappointments this year. The ones that didn’t live up to the hype for me were: King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo, Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo, Aurora Rising by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman, Lock Every Door by Riley Sager, Jade City by Fonda Lee, and Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff.

Book that felt like the biggest accomplishment?

The Way of Kings by Brandson Sanderson. It’s over 1000 pages.

Favorite character.

Hypnos from The Gilded Wolves. Thank you Roshani Chokshi for the wonderful Haitian rep!

Least favorite character.

The Darkling. There I said it.

I also disliked Amy Dunne and Nick Dunne from Gone Girl. 

Most shocking book/moment.

The end of The Dragon Republic obliterated me. I wasn’t ready for that twist.

Favorite couple/OTP.

Rowan and Citra from Scythe.

The best written book you read this year.

Gabby described this as the book with the most beautiful prose. Sadly, I don’t have an answer for this. Maybe, The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah? Idk.

Book that you pushed the most people to read in 2019.

The City of Brass is my brand. 

Favorite book cover of the year.

With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo. 

Favorite book adaptation.

Game of Thrones season 8 was a huge disappointment so I don’t have an answer for this. I’m currently reading the first book in The Witcher series and will eventually watch the show. I hope I love it.

What book made you cry the most?

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah.

What book made you laugh the most?

I don’t have an answer for this; however, I will say On the Come Up by Angie Thomas and There’s Something About Sweetie made me very happy.

A new favorite author you discovered this year.

Helen Hoang. Author of The Kiss Quotient and The Bride Test.

Guilty pleasure read of the year.

I don’t have answer for this.

Favorite book you re-read this year.

The Kingdom of Copper by S.A. Chakraborty AKA my favorite book.

What is the best non-fiction book you read this year?

I only read 7 non-fiction books this year. There weren’t anything to sing home about. 

Were you happy with your reading year?

Honestly, no. I read more books than I’ve ever read, but there were so many disappointments. So many duds. I would’ve been happy if I only read 10 books and loved all 10.


Let me know how your reading year went in the comments below!

17 thoughts on “It’s A Wrap – 2019 Reading Survey

  1. “73 were from the library. 14 ARCs. the others were books I previously owned. Shout out to my public library, the real MVP!” OKAY WHAT!!! These stats are incredible. Shout out to public libraries indeed!!! Now you’re making me think about trying this in 2020, reading only books I already own or can get at the library. I love love loveeee this.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You had such a great year! I only started listening to audiobooks this year and I can’t say I’m a huge fan yet, I just immediately go for the physical format but you listened to sooooo many!
    I’m also all about fantasy and I was just checking my reading stats fro the year and it was easier to count all the non-fantasy books and then see how many fantasy there were XD

    BTW I’m totally doing this great survey!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure you will be. 🙂

        I’m kind of leery of challenges and getting involved in book tours unless it sounds like something that I’d love to read. The Devil’s Apprentice was that for me.

        You’ll get there!

        Like

  3. I always love reading these kind of posts! You listened to so many audiobooks, wow!
    I do hope that your 2020 reading year will be way beter though!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on 100 books read! And congrats on Way of Kings, Stormlight Archives is no joke! I finished Words of Radiance this summer, now to get through Oathbringer before book 4 drops in the fall! I really want to try and read Helen Hoang this year, just need to make time for some non-sci-fi/fantasy reads……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment